TIEC Recruits Healthcare Expertise for PMU Teaching Hospital

TIEC Recruits Healthcare Expertise from across Texas and the U.S. to Serve on Steering Committee for the PMU Teaching Hospital Project

The Texas International Education Consortium (TIEC) has recruited an incredibly accomplished, esteemed group of physicians, specialists, and healthcare industry experts to advise the Prince Mohammad bin Fahd University (PMU) Teaching Hospital Project Plan. By leveraging our professionals’ experience at leading healthcare organizations, TIEC’s team of experts will provide the groundwork for a state of the art hospital in the Eastern Province in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. After initiating the project in December, the Steering Committee traveled to PMU to visit the PMU Project Team, where our experts collaborated on the vision of the hospital, presented on the future delivery and governance model, and toured a local hospital.

The Steering Committee for the project is being led by Dr. Stephen Spann, MD, MBA, Clinical Professor and Founding Dean of the College of Medicine at the University of Houston, Dr. Brigham Willis, MD, MEd, FAAP, Founding Dean of the University of Texas at Tyler, School of Medicine, and Harris Benny, MBA, Managing Partner and CEO of Medpoint Health Partners in Houston. Daniel Deslatte, MPA, FACHE, SVP of Business Affairs and COO of Health Affairs at the University of Texas at Tyler Health Science Center, is the Organizational Design & Human Resources Working Group Chair. Jewel Mullen, MD, MPH, Associate Dean for Health Equity at Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at Austin, is Chair of the Quality, Safety, and Accreditation Working Group. Debbie Gregory, DNP, RN, Principal of Healthcare Innovation Consulting at Smith Seckman Reid, Inc. is serving as the Chair for the Information Technology Working Group. James Ticer, Senior Principal of Global Medical Equipment at Shen, Milsom & Wilke, is the Hospital Equipment Working Group Chair, and Jean Mah, FAIA, FACHA, LEED AP, Practice Leader and Principal at Perkins&Will, is the Architecture Design Working Group Chair.